#Literacy, Preschool

July’s Book List- A Positive Representation of African American Children

It’s July 1st! If you have started to read to your young child, or deciding to begin this month, this list will be extremely beneficial to you.

Carmin Cares

Age Group: 2-5

Author: Karen Kilpatrick

When Carmin gets gum on her shoe while playing on the playground, she decides it’s time that someone did something about the mess and that “someone” may as well be her! But Carmin’s not old enough to clean the whole park by herself, so what can she do? It turns out that even the littlest kids can find ways to encourage people to take care of their community — and their environment. This cheerful picture book with a positive message is a fun read and a great way to prompt discussions about how kids can help.

When Grandma Gives You A Lemon Tree

Ages: 3-7

Author: Jamie L.B. Deenihan

Sometimes, even if you give Grandma a very careful list of electronic gadgets you’d like for your birthday… she’ll give you a lemon tree instead. If that happens, you should be polite and say thank you, and you definitely should not try to get rid of it (even if you do come up with some clever ideas.) Instead, put it somewhere sunny and give it just enough water, and with a little time, you might just have some delicious home-made lemonade (recipe included)! This wry and clever book about the joys of tending a growing plant is sure to make kids giggle, and give them a new appreciation of all the good things that can come from a little patience.

I Love My Hair!

Ages: 3-7

Author: Natasha Anastasia Tarpley

Kenaya is a little girl with a big imagination. Every night, she and her mother sit down for the dreaded ritual of combing Kenaya’s thick hair. But as Kenaya’s mother tells her all the wonderful and different ways she can wear her hair, Kenaya imagines those styles in fantastic ways, from thread on a spinning wheel to rows of plants in a garden to her favorite style, two ponytails that become wings that let her soar high above the world. This tribute to the beauty of naturally textured hair is sure to delight.

Who’s Knees Are These?

Ages: 2-5

Author: Jabari Asim

A vibrant, multicultural board book that celebrates a baby’s sweet knees, for fans of Ten Tiny Fingers and Ten Little Toes. Parents and children will enjoy this interactive board book full of toddler appeal that is perfect for celebrating a baby’s adorable knees.

Crown, An Ode To The Fresh Cut

Ages: 3 and up

Author: Derrick Barnes

A fresh cut makes boys fly. The barbershop is where the magic happens. Boys go in as lumps of clay and, with princely robes draped around their shoulders, a dab of cool shaving cream on their foreheads, and a slow, steady cut, they become royalty. That crisp yet subtle line makes boys sharper, more visible, more aware of every great thing that could happen to them when they look good: lesser grades turn into As; girls take notice; even a mother’s hug gets a little tighter. Everyone notices. Read this book to boost the esteem of your young son.

Not Quite Snow White

Ages: 4-8

Author: Ashley Franklin

Tameika loves to perform on stage and whether she’s acting, singing, or dancing, she always puts on a great show. So when her school decides to put on a musical version of Snow White she can’t wait to audition… until she hears her peers talking behind her back about how she’s too tall, too chubby, and too brown for the role. Fortunately, Tameika’s parents give her just the right reassurance she needs to nail the audition and show there’s no one right way to be a princess. Text that emphasizes Tameika’s passion and drive and images that highlight the joy she takes in acting combine to create an empowering story of self-confidence and individuality.

Animal Facts, Clever Kids Corner, Virtual Learning

Meerkat Facts- The Small and Mysterious Animal

Small and mysterious meerkats

Environment

  • Meerkats are specially adapted to living in the harsh desert environment.
  • Meerkats can live in pretty much any dessert. However, Meerkats live in all parts of the Kalahari Desert in Botswana, Namib Desert in Namibia and south-western Angola and in South Africa.
  • Their social cooperation within a large group and their extensively burrowed tunnels helps them to survive in arid African deserts.
  • Meerkats will also share their burrows with beetles.
  • Despite living in the desert unbelievably meerkats do not need extra water in their diets. They get all the moisture they need from the insects and grubs they eat.

Diets

  • Meerkats are insectivores, which means most of their diet is made up of insects.
  • However, they are also known to eat small mammals, snakes and snake eggs, birds and bird eggs, grubs (an insect’s wormlike larva) and even poisonous scorpions.
  • Meetkats also enjoy eating fruits and vegetables.

Body Structure

  • Very small catlike carnivores, their faces often have a curious look, seemingly taking in everything in their surroundings.
  • They have long bodies and short flat ears and are able to stand on their hind legs.
  • The color of their coat can be gold, silver, brown or orange, with dark patches around the eyes.
  • They can dig their own body weight of dirt within a few seconds and their high endurance enables them to build elaborate tunnels.
  • Meerats can live up to eight years in the wild.
  • Meerkats are immune to venom and can handle a bite from a poisonous snake.